Physical impulse is described with two characteristics — amplitude and duration. Amplitude, the difference of values in the beginning of impulse and at its peak, refers to strength of momentum, while duration describes time. Shoving off these characteristics, Impulse project presents works by St. Petersburg’s young artists, tracing trajectories through perplexed time of modernity and stating difference as its foundational feature. 


 

Tending to move away from curatorial subjectivity, project exhibits artistic production conceived  beyond thematic or formal boundaries. The only predetermined condition was where the work will be placed. Resulting out of such an experiment is an exhibition consisting entirely of installations mostly conceived specifically for the project. Installational format, in its nature implanted in specifics of time and space, creates polyphonic field that becomes an “act of presenting the present”. 


 

Installations, multiplied spacial images, demonstrate theirs, sometimes even abundant, materiality. Shoving off this materiality, artists place it in a close relationship with time: personal time, geological time, epochal time, technological time, etc. Time is nonlinear here — accelerating and slowing down, it pierces artworks, runs in loop, crystallises, erodes and haunts the viewer.

Curators:

Veronika Nikiforova, Khristina Ots

Impulse project consolidates artworks of young artists, who shift the scopes of contemporary “St. Petersburg art”. Without seeking to determine unambiguous direction of young art development, whether through formal or narrative affinity, the project tends to capture the differential singularity of the present.

Curators: Veronika Nikiforova, Khristina Ots

 

Artists:

Andreev twins

Natalia Balabanova

Katja Butorina

Katerina Veselovskaya

VOPI

Tata Gorian

Philipp Guzeev

Anastasiia Kolesnik

Valentina Makarova

Anna Martynenko

Evgeniy Molodtsov

Darya Molodtsova

Polina Orlova

Anna Prilutckaia

Lidiya Rikker

Alena Smolina

iBiom Box

Technical director: Viacheslav Shatrovoi

PR: Ana Tolstaia

Design: Veronika Nikiforova

Texts and translation: Khristina Ots

Exhibition is organised as a part of Sergey Kuryokhin Contemporary Art Center program for the support of young artists and independent curators and researchers and supported by   The Foundation of Vladimir Smirnov and Konstantine Sorokin.


Dates: 1 — 17 October 2019

смирнов сорокин лого.jpeg

© 2019. Curarium.

лого арт тюб.png
art weekend spb logo (2)(1).png
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Физический импульс описывается посредством двух категорий — амплитуды и длительности. Амплитуда, разница значений в начале импульса и на его пике, говорит о его силе, длительность же отсылает ко времени. Отталкиваясь от этих двух характеристик, выставочный проект «Импульс» представляет проекты молодых художников Петербурга, прочерчивая траектории в запутанном времени современности и утверждая «различность» как основополагающий ее признак.


Желая уйти от кураторской субъективности, проект выставляет результат работы художников, существовавших вне тематических или формальных рамок. Единственным предзаданным условием было место, в котором должна была бы располагаться работа. Результатом подобного эксперимента стал выставочный проект, состоящий полностью из инсталляций, по большей части реализованных художниками впервые. Инсталляционный формат, своей природой укоренный в специфичности места и времени, создает многоголосое поле высказывания, которое в экспозиции становится «актом презентации настоящего».


Инсталляции, размноженные пространственные образы, предъявляют зрителю свою, порой даже избыточную, материальность. Отталкиваясь от этой материальности, художники ставят ее в тесную зависимость от времени: личного времени, геологического времени, эпохального времени, технологического времени и т.д. Время здесь нелинейно — то ускоряясь, то замедляясь, оно рассекает работы, закручивается в петли, кристаллизуется, разъедает произведения и пытается догнать зрителя.

Кураторы:

Христина Отс, Вероника Никифорова

​​

Проект «Импульс» объединяет произведения молодых художников, смещающих оптику взгляда на современное «петербургское искусство». Не стремясь выявить однозначное направление движения молодого искусства, будь то формальная или сюжетная общность, проект пытается ухватить актуальность момента в его различности. Выставка вместит работы выпускников художественных школ Петербурга от Художественно-промышленной академии им. Штиглица и Российского государственного института сценических искусств до Школы молодого художника Про Арте, Лаборатории Новых Медиа, Школы современного искусства «Пайдейя» и др.

Кураторы: Вероника Никифорова, Христина Отс

 

В выставке принимают участие:

Братья Андреевы

Наталья Балабанова
Катя Буторина

Катерина Веселовская

ВОПИ

Тата Гориан

Филипп Гузеев

Анастасия Колесник
Валентина Макарова

Анна Мартыненко

Евгений Молодцов

Дарья Молодцова

Полина Орлова
Анна Прилуцкая

Лидия Риккер

Алёна Смолина

iBiom Box

Технический директор: Вячеслав Шатровой

PR: Анна Толстая

Дизайн: Вероника Никифорова

Редактура и перевод: Христина Отс
 

Проект организован в рамках программы Центра Современного Искусства им. Сергея Курёхина по поддержке молодых художников и независимых кураторов при поддержке Фонда Владимира Смирнова и Константина Сорокина.


Даты проведения: 1 — 17 Октября 2019

смирнов сорокин лого.jpeg

© 2019. Curarium.

лого арт тюб.png
art weekend spb logo (2)(1).png
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now